Posted in Food logs

Beans, beans, the magical fruit.

Are beans a fruit? If they’re magical, I guess they can be anything they want.

I’ve been thinking about this blog and how I said I would only post about foods that were interesting. I realized that that’s not the point of this blog: the point is to show a daily vegan diet, repetition or not. On the bright side, I’ve acquired all these new, fun veggies, so maybe it won’t be so repetitive!

On to the food!

Peach and blueberries

It may just be my childish, youthful spirit, but for some reason the only real way I can eat fruit is if it’s cut up. I use all of the fruit, so I’m not wasting anything. In fact, when I try to eat fruit whole, I waste more than if I just cut it up and ate it. Eating a whole peach just seems so messy and sticky, and this may just be me, but the skin of a watermelon is damn near impossible to pierce with my teeth, not to mention I just can’t get my mouth around it. Ugh.

PB&J

There are a surprising amount of things that you can still eat when you’re vegan, and PB&J sandwiches are one of those things. Yummy!

Greens with chick peas, navy beans, black-eyed peas, green peppers, tomato, celery, carrots,  olives, and a squirt of lime

One of the easiest ways to make sure you get the nutrients you need is just to put a whole bunch of stuff into a salad. This especially works if you think you’ve undercooked your navy beans a little, and if you have a tendency to forget about vegetables in your refrigerator. If you toss ’em all into a salad,  you’re using them before they just rot and become waste. Just make sure your salad doesn’t go bad!

A note on using salad dressing: sauces and dressing can really, really ruin a healthy meal.  A lot of commerical salad dressings have either a lot of sodium, sugar or both. Try to avoid using them (we only really have french and bleu cheese, so that wasn’t an issue for me). Try using some lime juice or olive oil, or even try making your own salad dressing.

Bean salad (navy beans, black-eyed peas, green pepper, tomato, lime juice and olive oil) with a pickle and slice of white bread

I know, I know. White bread? You’re probably asking aloud to your computer, most likely from the state hospital you’ve been committed to because you kept talking to your computer. The pickle probably wasn’t too healthy, either, but they both added flavor to the salad. If you do make your own bean salad, a toasted slice of whole wheat bread goes really well with the salad, and if you want to have that pickle, you have that pickle. 

Tomato pie

This is, again, just a pizza without cheese. There is usually basil on it, but I didn’t put in the order this time, and the green stuff on top of it vaguely tasted like spinach. Which I’m totally cool with-basil tastes too perfumey for me, and having whole leaves of it on a pie just really puts me out of the mood. And there was a lot of green stuff. I only had once slice, so only time will tell.

I just really, really hope it’s spinach…

 

Author:

If books were food, I'd eat them. Obviously. I need to live. I'm just a comic-loving, plant eating weirdo who talks to herself on the internet. Let's hang out and talk to ourselves on the internet!

Leave a Reply

