Posted in Uncategorized

Wait, what do you mean this doesn’t taste like tuna?

First food post! Yay!

Here’s a list of all the food I ate yesterday (because I remembered you asked):

Oatmeal with apple and peanut butter

Making sure you get enough protein when you go vegan is super important (although it’s not the only thing you need to worry about). That’s where the oatmeal and peanut butter come in. Vegetables and fruit (duh) are also major staples, so make sure you incorporate those in your meals whenever you can.

Sugar cookies (with vegetable oil spread instead of butter)

Rockstar Horchata

I know, I know, but slips will happen. It’s best not to get stressed out about it all though. Remember: this isn’t a contest! If  you slip up no one will judge you harshly for it; you’ll only have to toss and turn at night, silently judging yourself.

Brown rice and amaranth with tomatoes, green peppers and flax seed

Mmm, right? So healthy and exotic. What’s even amaranth, anyway? To address the first part, yes, so healthy and exotic. And amaranth is a grain not unlike quinoa that is really good for you. It was even used for religious purposes by the Aztecs, who sometimes mixed it with human blood and honey before cooking. I bet it’s really yummy!…when you cook it right. I didn’t, apparently, and now I have a sludgy, half-cooked jar of amaranth in the fridge I’m a little afraid to touch.

When you go vegan exotic and healthy grains become your friends. Amaranth, quinoa, brown rice- they’re all super packed with the good stuff that you need. Don’t be afraid to experiment!

Also, a note on flax seed: flax seed is really important for you. It has omega-3s that you really, really need, among other things. You can buy it already milled (ground) or whole, but go for whole. The whole ones you have to grind yourself (you can use a blender, mortar and pestle, or a coffee grinder) because your body can’t digest the tough husks that protect the nutrients inside, but it’s so worth it, especially if you grind them right before you use them. The longer they stay ground, the less nutrients they ultimately have. It seems like a superfluous step to take, but it’s worth it in the long run. I sprinkle it in my cereal and oatmeal.

Corn

Vegan tuna melt

This is the fun part! Whee!

So I had to replace the cheese, tuna and mayo. Phew. It’s okay, we got this.

Tuna: This is easy. Just grind up chickpeas in a food processor or blender. I just used a standard can of chickpeas, rinsed and drained them before I ground them. Aim for a tuna texture. It’s also really yummy if you add in some chopped vegetables (or flax seed *INCONSPICUOUS WINK). This will keep in the fridge for about a week, maybe even longer, but I wouldn’t waste time using it. Mine didn’t taste bad necessarily after the first week, but it didn’t really taste like tuna…

Cheese: I just used a vegan cheese I bought from Acme. To be entirely honest, it tastes like tapioca by itself, and mostly like cheese when you disguise it with other things. I’ll talk about vegan substitute products in another post.

Mayo: this one is my favorite. To make vegan mayo, you blend tofu (I used firm to a get a thicker, more mayo-like texture), olive oil, and honestly whatever the butt you want together in a blender or food processor. It all depends on what you want it to taste like and spread like (although the food processor vs. blender might not have much pull in the taste). You can’t really mess this up. I’d go for using a third of a 12 oz. block, just because you want to a) experiment with flavor and texture, and b) this is only keeps in the fridge for a week, although you can freeze it. To keep it from being watery, press out as much water from the tofu as you can, and don’t forget to store the leftover tofu in water in the fridge (you can also freeze this)!

This is the tofu I used (well, not this exactly. This is just a picture online of a tofu package).  It had very little water to start with, so I didn’t need to press it. Nevertheless, here’s a link on how to press tofu from about.com.

So I hoped this helped! I’ll be back tonight to post about what I’ve had today (this is from yesterday; I just never got around to it yesterday. I promise I’ll have pictures up by soon!

I think I’m actually going to eat food now. Stay weird!

Author:

If books were food, I'd eat them. Obviously. I need to live. I'm just a comic-loving, plant eating weirdo who talks to herself on the internet. Let's hang out and talk to ourselves on the internet!

One thought on “Wait, what do you mean this doesn’t taste like tuna?

Leave a Reply

